Rare Color Photography of Early 1900s Paris

There is something so curious about seeing images of the early 20th century in color – it makes the era feel more tangible. When I initially saw these photographs of turn of the century Paris on Curious Eggs, I was struck by the fact that, somewhere in the back of my head, I seemed to think that the people of the time moved through a hazy world of sepia. I don’t think that the addition of color necessarily takes away from my romantic illusions (or delusions), but it certainly makes the era feel more “real.” It’s almost like we could hop in a zeppelin and visit, which, to be honest, is all I’ve ever really wanted.

Thank you and a huge shout out to my friend Billy Norrby for bringing this to my attention! Billy also happens to be a phenomenal painter with a spectacular sense of color, so it’s all the more fitting that this came from him.

Check out the full collection here.

Image

Image

Image

About fauxfrench

Voolay foo foo shay allequoi. Ze za.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

